Copenhagen Blog: Day 10

Hass Yusuf, editor of Vision magazine reporting from Copenhagen. Photographs by David Ransted.

Disclaimer: Apologies for any typos, bad grammar,  missing words, etc. These blogs are being written live as the action happens.

So — did you enjoy last night’s show? I thought it was excellent. I’m pleased to say that never got all my predictions correct! I so wanted San Marino and Netherlands to get through, but thought they wouldn’t have a chance. So, well done Europe.

The biggest shock for me was Belgium not getting through. I had it down as a cert – and even possible winner. Don’t these cold-hearted Europeans have mothers?! I was sorry for Latvia not getting through – I thought it might be the lucky quirky song that always get through. I prefered them to Iceland.

Still, I got eight out of ten. And I do prefer San Marino and Netherlands to Belgium and Latvia, so I’m happy.

The best thing about last night is that one of the nicest people ever at Eurovision, finally got to the final – Valentina from San Marino. And another favourite of mine – Montenegro also made it to the final for the first time. Netherlands have got through now two years on a roll – a record for them!

It looks like Sanna from Sweden is the one to beat.

Today all that is happening is two Dress Rehearsals for Semi-Final 2. I shall go in soon and watch the first rehearsal. Hopefully this semi is as good as the first one!

And you know what? It was. Only 15 songs in this one. The arena was packed with 6,000 school kids. Lucky little sods. Never happened to me. It was interesting to hear their reactions to the songs. Norway got a muted response from them – but they loved Teo from Belarus and the ample bosoms of the Poles. Those little male hormones were working overtime.

The Australians produced an amusing interval act -and they did have  a singer on stage with a song that was god enough for the contest. But ale, they live too far away…

I think Israel and Romania will do very well from this semi. There are some wonderful backdrops for some songs. The Austrian one couldn’t be better for Conchita’s song.

I think this might be my favourite stage ever. The stage in Riga was probably my favourite until this year. Moscow, of course was magnificent, but there’s something very special with this production.

Anyway – let’s look at some of David’s pics from the first Dress Rehearsal.

Austria: Dashing in gold!

Austria: Dashing in gold!

Belarus: Thinking about cheesecake.

Belarus: Thinking about cheesecake.

Finland:  Wanting Something Better

Finland: Wanting Something Better

Georgia: Green is definitely her colour!

Georgia: Green is definitely her colour!

Greece: It's that RiskyKidd!

Greece: It’s that RiskyKidd!

Ireland: A Celtic beauty.

Ireland: A Celtic beauty.

Israel: Looking powerful!

Israel: Looking powerful!

Lithuania: Pay attention please!

Lithuania: Pay attention please!

Macedonia: Giving it her all!

Macedonia: Giving it her all!

Norway: Nice tatts!

Norway: Nice tatts!

Poland: I like her.

Poland: I like her.

Romania; Ovi looking for Paula.

Romania; Ovi looking for Paula.

Slovenia: Watch out for that flute!

Slovenia: Watch out for that flute!

Switzerland: Still hunting for those stars.

Switzerland: Still hunting for those stars.

 

Malta: Playing with his thingy.

Malta: Playing with his thingy.

Opening act: Blue skin looks good.

Opening act: Blue skin looks good.

Opening act: Watch those hands mate!

Opening act: Watch those hands mate!

And now it’s time for PREDICTIONS!

Who will be the ten acts that will get through to the final. Here are results from our small entourage.

David Elder: Malta, Israel, Norway, Poland, Austria, Lithuania, Finland, Belarus, Greece, Romania

David Ransted: Malta, Israel, Norway, Poland, Austria, Finland, Ireland, Belarus, Greece, Romania

Robin Scott: Malta, Israel, Norway, Poland, Austria, Finland, Ireland, Belarus, Greece, Romania

Hass Yusuf: Malta, Israel, Norway, Poland, Austria, Finland, Belarus, Switzerland, Greece,  Romania

Personally I think I’m taking a risk of not putting Lithuania through and Switzerland in it’s place. I would love to see Ireland get through – so I hope all my predictions don’t come through. But all four of us agree on nine acts.

Back tomorrow. Off to the EuroCafe tonight for the OGAE International night. Sanna from Sweden will be singing.

 

 

