Copenhagen Blog: Day 12

Hass Yusuf, editor of Vision magazine reporting from Copenhagen. Photographs by David Ransted. Disclaimer: Apologies for any typos, bad grammar,  missing words, etc. These blogs are being written live as the action happens.

Semi-Final 2 results: Going through: Malta, Norway, Poland, Austria, Finland, Belarus, Switzerland, Greece,  Slovenia, Romania

It looks like David Ransted, David Elder and Robin Scott all did well with their predictions getting eight out of ten – though I did better with nine out of ten. I was expecting Israel to go through instead of Slovenia.

But let’s just say: OMG! How could Israel not get through? In my opinion it was the best Israeli song ever – and my favourite this year. So the curse of my favourite song not going continues! But I am so happy to see Switzerland in the final. Still my second favourite song of the contest got through in Semi-Final 1 – Hungary – and I predicted it would win the contest some time ago. Naturally I want the UK to win – but id we don’t I would rather Hungary have that honour. My other favourites still remain Italy and Austria. I guess all he talk is about Conchita from Austria. Apparently Russia broadcasted the show – but showed a weather report while Austria was on. I don’t think the EBU can punish them for that because they weren’t obliged to broadcast – only the first one as they were in that. There also seemed some problem with the voting. I guess we’ll get  more info soon. Here’s the running order for the grand final:

  1. Ukraine
  2. Belarus
  3. Azerbaijan
  4. Iceland
  5. Norway
  6. Romania
  7. Armenia
  8. Montenegro
  9. Poland
  10. Greece
  11. Austria
  12. Germany
  13. Sweden
  14. France
  15. Russia
  16. Italy
  17. Slovenia
  18. Finland
  19. Spain
  20. Switzerland
  21. Hungary
  22. Malta
  23. Denmark
  24. The Netherlands
  25. San Marino
  26. United Kingdom

As you can see we’re on last! Probably not the best position to be – 24th would’ve been better – but we can’t grumble. They’re obviously saving the best to last.

I’m currently in the press room watching the first dress rehearsal for the final. Missed the first half as I was at the OGAE Presidents meeting. With Paul Marks-Jones not here n Copenhagen I was representing the UK club.

Got lots of business done – and two new Countries will be joining the organisation by next year – Latvia and Slovakia. We also had an EBU representative attend as well. The EBU are working OGAE International closer than ever before.

We discussed thins like the fan ticket package. Some OGAE clubs are annoyed that we can’t buy individual tickets for shows and have to purchase the whole six ticket package. That situation won’t probably change – but the club does get them much cheaper prices. And quite honestly the EBU are doing us a favour – they don’t have to offer any tickets – they could easily sell them to the public for much more.

With so much happening, I forgot to mention The OGAE UK Party last night at the EuroCafe. While Molly couldn’t make it – she have to save her voice we were treated to a mini-contest by Pollaponk form Iceland (at least we have the same colours on our  flags). Loads of members there. Many thanks to OGAE UK’s Simon Bennett for organising the evening.

Anyway, this year’s Eurovision will soon be over. It’s going to be another great year. At least some of my favourites are through (Italy, Spain and the UK automatically qualify of course)  – Hungary, Austria, Montenegro, Sweden, Poland, Greece, Malta – and especially Switzerland and San Marino. Even though I would like the best song to win – Hungary – it would be very fitting for Switzerland to host the 60th contest  as they started it off in 1956. The Swiss delegation are actually staying ay my hotel. Must go and wish Seabalter good luck!

The dream win of course will be the UK! And it could happen! There have been some strange results this year. And Molly with her song, Children Of The Universe, is something we can all be proud of. If the UK can win while I’m in the arena watching it live, I can die happy. Sad, I know – but hey – this is important stuff y’know!

Some of these rehearsals today are a bit ropey. There were some strange nots from the Greeks and Italian – but I expect them to be perfect on the night. Actually they have to perfect for their second dress rehearsal tonight – the one where the juries will be voting.

On now as I’m writing is an act that I got to like more and more while here – Netherlands. It’s pure class.

And now singing at position 25 is the fabulous Valentina for San Marino. Eurovision needs an old fashioned song now and then.

And now – the last song of he contest – here’s Molly for the UK! And yes – she was fab. What a great way to end the contest – with the words: Power to the people!

So – who is going to win? Well I always thought Hungary had winner written all over it from the first hearing – do I should stick to my guns. But Sweden could easily do it. But I do hope it’s tight and exciting show – no one wants a runaway winner.

David predicts Greece to win. I’ll be happy with that. It’ll probably be in Thessaloniki this time. Nice weather. Nice food. Cheap hotels. Hurrah! As much as I love the Swedish son, it would be nice to move away from west Europe next year. And if Greece can’t afford to hold it, I have it good authority that Switzerland are desperate to do it. If so, it’ll probably be in Zurich.

Back again tomorrow.

 

